New designations will help improve traffic safety in areas with special road safety concerns

Community Safety Zone Oxford County is introducing 20 new Community Safety Zones this fall, one of several speed management and traffic calming measures the County is undertaking to improve traffic safety in our growing communities.

Community Safety Zones are provincially designated areas with special road safety concerns, for instance, near schools, community centres, recreation areas, playgrounds, hospitals, or seniors’ centres or residences. Marked by road signage, Community Safety Zones allow for increased fines for speeding and are also eligible for use of Automated Speed Enforcement (ASE), or photo radar.

Oxford County completed a review in 2022 of potential sites for Community Safety Zones, presenting 21 locations that met the criteria for this designation to County Council in February 2023. With approval of that report, 20 new Community Safety Zones will be installed in November in the following communities:  

  • Beachville                               
  • Bright                   
  • Drumbo
  • Harrington                             
  • Hickson               
  • Ingersoll
  • Innerkip                                 
  • Kintore                 
  • Norwich
  • Otterville                                 
  • Tavistock             
  • Thamesford
  • Woodstock

For more information on Oxford County’s recent road safety improvement measures visit

See maps of approved Community Safety Zone locations