fire hydrant with rushing water coming out of it, flooding the street beside it. Watermain flushing

Regular watermain flushing programs help maintain drinking water quality by removing build-up and mineral deposits in the distribution system.

This is done by forcing water through watermains at high speed and discharging it through hydrants and blow-offs, which are left open until the water runs clear. The fast-moving water washes away any sediment that has built up over time and settled at the bottom of the pipes.

Residents are notified when watermain flushing is happening in their area and customers may experience a temporary discolouration of water. The iron in the water is an aesthetic problem and is not a health concern.
 

During flushing in your area

  • Avoid water use to prevent dirty water being drawn into household lines.
  • If water is discoloured after the work is completed, turn on an outside tap or laundry faucet (not connected to a water softener or filter) and let run until water clears.
  • Notify Oxford County Public Works if you continue to have problems with the water.

2022 Spring Flushing Schedule

Public Notices - 2022 Spring Flushing

Flushing schedule for Spring 2022
LocationDate

Ingersoll

No spring flushing due to
water tower construction work

Otterville/Springford

Tue. Apr. 19 - Fri. Apr. 22

Plattsville

Mon. Apr. 11 - Fri. Apr. 14

Lakeside

Mon. May. 2

Norwich

Mon. Apr. 4 - Fri. Apr. 8

Sweaburg

Tue. May. 3

Mount Elgin

Mon. Apr. 25

Brownsville

Tues. Apr. 26

Beachville

Mon. May 2

Tavistock

Sun. Apr. 24 - AM
Mon. Apr. 25 - Fri. Apr. 29

Drumbo/Princeton

Mon. Apr. 4 - Fri. Apr. 8

Thamesford

Mon. Apr. 11 to Thurs. Apr 14

Innerkip

Tues. Apr. 19 - Fri. Apr. 22

Dereham Centre

Fri. Apr. 29

Bright

Thurs. Apr. 28

Hickson

 Fri. Apr. 29

Embro

Wed. Apr. 27