Services for You Water & Wastewater Drinking Water Flushing
Menu

Watermain Flushing

Watermain flushing

Regular watermain flushing programs help maintain drinking water quality by removing build-up and mineral deposits in the distribution system.

This is done by forcing water through watermains at high speed and discharging it through hydrants and blow-offs, which are left open until the water runs clear. The fast-moving water washes away any sediment that has built up over time and settled at the bottom of the pipes.

Residents are notified when watermain flushing is happening in their area and customers may experience a temporary discolouration of water. The iron in the water is an aesthetic problem and is not a health concern.
 

During flushing in your area

  • Avoid water use to prevent dirty water being drawn into household lines.
  • If water is discoloured after the work is completed, turn on an outside tap or laundry faucet (not connected to a water softener or filter) and let run until water clears.
  • Notify Oxford County Public Works if you continue to have problems with the water.

2021 Fall Flushing Schedule

Public Notices - 2021 Fall Flushing 

2021 Fall Flushing

Ingersoll

Mon. Sept. 27 - Fri. Oct. 8

Notice

Otterville/Springford

Tue.Oct.12 - Fri. Oct. 15

Notice

Plattsville

Tue. Oct. 12 - Fri. Oct. 15

Notice

Lakeside

Mon. Oct. 18

Notice

Norwich

Mon. Oct. 18 - Fri. Oct. 22

Notice

Sweaburg

Tue. Oct. 19

Notice

Mount Elgin

Wed. Oct. 20

Notice

Brownsville

Thur. Oct. 21

Notice

Beachville

Fri. Oct. 22

Notice

Tavistock

Sun. Oct. 24 - Fri. Oct. 29

Notice

Drumbo/Princeton

Mon. Oct. 25 - Fri. Oct. 29

Notice

Thamesford

Mon. Nov. 1 to Thurs. Nov. 4

Notice

Innerkip

Mon. Nov. 1 - Thurs. Nov. 4

Notice

Dereham Centre

Fri. Nov. 5

Notice

Bright

Fri. Nov. 5

Notice

Hickson

 Fri. Nov. 5

Notice

Embro

Mon. Nov. 8 - Wed. Nov. 10

Notice